Projects Helen Bell Sheet Music Contact Audio Video News and Blog Helen Bell

Midnight on Platform 16B - pdf Sheet Music Download for Viola

by Helen Bell

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    This download is for a pdf of the full book of sheet music for viola, which contains 38 original tunes influenced by the folk traditions of the British Isles, France, Scandinavia and the Balkans.
    You will also receive demo recordings of each tune played all the way through.

      £7 GBP  or more




There are some tunes in traditional form (e.g. jigs, reels, polkas, marches, waltzes) which can be used as dance tunes for ceilidh bands, and some that are less traditional (such as those that move through several different time-signatures).

The pages are illustrated with cut and paste collage, drawings and lettering, and chords are provided for accompanists.You can see some examples of what's inside on my website at .

For this digital download, in addition to the full colour pdf, I've also provided plain black and white printer friendly pdfs of each tune as an ink-saving alternative.

You will also receive recordings of melody demonstrations for each tune, performed on solo viola - you can hear a preview of these at .

As well as a pdf, the book is available as a physical, printed book - you can get this here:

The tunes included are:

* The Flaming Torches
* Jig of Slurls
* The Scree
* Falls of Cruachan
* Langsett
* Audierne
* Hunting the Off-License
* Trip to Heligoland
* The Milk-White Turbot
* Granville Hornpipe
* The Ice Sculptor
* The Last Shoe Shop in Camden
* Hole in the Knee
* I Thought it was an Antelope
* The Hour After
* Burlilty
* National Express 348 Bristol to Oxford
* Terribly Nice Polite Cup of Tea Hornpipe
* Sopley Mill I & II
* Tumbling Over Tussocks
* Midnight on Platform 16B
* The Giant's Causeway
* Walberswick
* Leaving Whitby
* Quiet River
* On the Carpet
* Searching for Shells in Seaview
* Betty's Mirror
* Whisky in the Dark
* Out of the Lock
* The Farrar Street Poisoner
* Malachite
* The First Bonfire
* Pillowfish
* Fly up the Hill
* The Animals are in the West
* Mirage


released January 2, 2014

All tunes composed by Helen Bell



all rights reserved